I have no words

02191613122.jpg.jpg

Reading it was an assignment in lit class in high school, followed with watching the movie. The two changed my life forever. It continues to be my absolute favorite book and movie.

Today, Harper Lee, the author of this incredible, life-changing book, died at the age of 89. My heart is broken.

To Kill a Mockingbird taught me that “black lives matter”. That all men are created equal, regardless of the color of their skin. I learned that there are evil people – in all races. I read this the first time in the late 60s, early 70s when racial tensions were high. Maybe that’s why it had such a huge impact on my life.

This book taught me other things as well: the carefree days of summer, the innocence of children, respect for those less fortunate than ourselves.

And then there’s Boo. This book taught me to respect the wishes and privacy of others.

Atticus was the dad we all wished we had and Scout was the girl all little girls wished they were.

I haven’t read Go Set a Watchman yet, but I will. I can almost ensure it will never have the same impact that To Kill a Mockingbird has had.

RIP Harper Lee. I am forever grateful for the life lessons you have taught me. Your death has had the same impact on me as your book has. I will never forget you.

Leave a Reply

