Audaciousness!

Two recent events in my life helped to make me a better person – one who’s ready more than ever to be bold in love about my Lord Jesus Christ.

First, last Saturday I attended a live simulcast with Beth Moore. Beth is a Bible study author, teacher, wife, mother, and I’m sure the list could go on. My church hosted the live simulcast in Des Moines and I was thrilled to be a part of it.

The simulcast was on Audaciousness – the audacity, the boldness, to speak out, to pray, and to love God.

Additionally, I recently finished reading a book called, “The Potluck Club” by Linda Evans Shepherd and Eva Marie Everson. It’s about a group of women who get together about once a month to eat lunch together and pray. It took me a while to get through this book. I’m not saying it’s not a good book – it’s that I tend to read it as I’m lying in bed falling asleep. It wasn’t until the end of the book that it got really interesting. Most of the book was spent with the ladies dealing with their own life’s issues. It seems the one thing they came together to do – pray – is the one thing they didn’t do much of.

One of the characters in the book was Jan, the pastor’s wife, who was dying of cancer.  As Jan’s talking with one of the ladies from the potluck (prayer) club, she said these words, “Death. It isn’t a punishment, you know. It’s the victory we race toward. We’re born, and God draws us to himself.”

Her husband, the pastor, later says to this friend,“You can’t do anything more than you’ve done. Except pray.” 

Except pray.

A few pages later someone else wrote: “Maybe prayer is my being ushered into the throne room of God, where I can tell him whatever is on my heart and he will listen. Maybe it’s just that simple. God has not descended to me. I have ascended to him. All I know right now is that in prayer I can be safe in this room. I can be with my heavenly Father.

“Prayer. What a concept.”

Yes! What a concept. Lord, help me to be bolder in my prayers. Help me to pray for my family and friends. I want to be bold with and for you.

Leave a Reply

