Labor Day Musings

When I was working, I couldn’t wait for the holidays to come so I would have a day off.

One of my favorite books/movies growing up was Pippi Longstocking. I loved that she lived alone and had a carefree lifestyle. And she didn’t go to school. What I wouldn’t have given to not to have to go to school!

When Pippi learned that her neighbors had vacation days from school, Pippi wanted that too so she went to school just so she could have vacation days off – just like her neighbors.

I wanted to scream at her! “Pippi! Your life IS a vacation! Don’t go to school!”

But, I had to go to school – and later, to work. Honestly, I always wanted to be a stay-at-home mom, raise my kids, be a helpmeet to my husband, yada yada yada. But, since I didn’t get married until late in life, I had to work. It was not the most favorite time in my life.

But, Jesus always gives us strength to do the things we don’t want to do or find difficult to do. He promises to always be with us.

Matthew 11:28-30 says: “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

On this Labor Day, find rest. Rest in the arms of Jesus.

0907151304b

Leave a Reply

